So, this is my first blog. As you can see to the left, I’m reading a book called “Passionate Housewives Desperate for God (by Jennie Chancey and Stacy McDonald). Click on the picture for more information. This book is very counter-cultural in the sense that the authors are combating all the misperceptions and misinformation that we have about what a housewife is or should be. Unfortunately, this is prevalent even in the church. We who have chosen to be the helpmeets to our husbands that God has called us to be, raise our children ourselves, and care for our own homes, are fed lies about what that should look like, and what we “need” in order to not completely lose our minds as we live in such drudgery! (Hope you caught the sarcasm…)

For the last few years, I’ve been part of an online group that encourages women in how to keep their homes looking their best. You get several daily emails that remind you to take care of some household task. This part of the program is very helpful to someone like me, as I tend to get very overwhelmed when there is a lot to do, and I don’t know where to start. However, along with these reminders comes the subtle message that you have to look out for yourself before you can take care of your family properly. If you don’t take care of yourself, no one else will. NOT TRUE! God takes care of me and is well able to give me the strength I need to complete the tasks that are before me, as long as I am leaning on his strength and not trying to do things on my own. I suppose that women who don’t know the Lord have to take this approach to caring for their own needs first, making sure to get plenty of time alone where they can “re-charge”. But, I am so grateful to God that He has, and will continue, to give me the strength and stamina I need, even on those days where I’m running on little sleep and haven’t a minute to myself.

So anyway, I realized that while I hadn’t bought into the lies completely, I had tolerated them, and they were beginning to creep into my thinking. I’ve been fiercely protective of my afternoon “me time”. But, on days when my children didn’t want to co-operate with their quiet times, I found myself very frustrated with them. This frustration would last throughout the day, as I would think things like, “if only they had napped like they were supposed to, I wouldn’t feel so drained”. Worse yet, when my husband would surprise me by coming home from work early, I wasn’t pleased to see him, because now I wouldn’t get the alone time that I was sure I needed. Women, please don’t buy into these lies. The truth is, that had I realized that my strength comes from God, and not from my “me time”, I would have had a lot more patience with my family, and probably would have accomplished a lot more of what I should have for the day. It’s an endless, unsatisfying pursuit when we seek to refresh ourselves; Only God can satisfy that need and I’m learning to rely on Him more everyday.

